DAT Breakdown (25AA/24TS/27PAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dat_bootcamp_usesr

Reaction score
DAT Breakdown (25AA/24TS/27PAT)

I recently took the DAT January 29th, 2024 and wanted to write a breakdown for the strategies, tools, and schedule that I used to study. Hopefully this is helpful to whoever may be reading.

Short Summary
In short summary for those who do not want to read this entire post… I studied for roughly 2.5 months, watched every Bootcamp video (1.5/2x speed), completed and tagged every Science and QR question that DAT Bootcamp offered (some but not all of the PAT and RC), and completed and tagged all 10 of the practice exams. The practice exams are very realistic and definitely your best friend particularly in the later weeks of prep approaching your exam. Make sure to invest a lot of time into content review of each section before taking the practice tests. Dr. Ari’s study schedule is a great template for a schedule, I took bits and pieces of his schedule but mostly followed my own as I’ll describe below.

Tools + Schedule
The only tool that I used to study for the DAT was DAT Bootcamp and if I were to do it again, this is all that I would use.

The very first thing I did was take a full length practice exam to get a better understanding of the format of the exam, the different sections, and what areas I was most and least familiar with. Remember this is just a baseline and not something you should put too much pressure or value on. For reference, you can look at my Test 1 score on the image of my practice exam scores below. It was very clear to me that I lost a lot of intro bio and chem knowledge for the science sections which is where I needed to focus most of my attention. Reading was something I felt confident in, and PAT and QR I knew would just be a matter of repetition and practice.