DAT Breakdown (25AA/24TS/25PAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Alaskanskiier

Reaction score
I took the DAT on May 31, 2023, and I couldn’t be happier with how it went. I studied for about 8 weeks using DAT bootcamp!
My scores were:
PAT: 25
QR: 22
RC: 27
BIO: 24
GC: 24
OC: 26
TS: 24
AA: 25

I began studying two weeks before my spring semester ended, and was planning to take the DAT after 12 weeks of studying. However, I chose to move my test dat up in order to get my application in sooner. I started out following the DAT Bootcamp 12 week schedule exactly, and after I got a feel for what I needed the most work on and what I didn’t I adapted the my studies. For the first four weeks I was finishing up my classes, so I did 2-3 hours a day 6 days a week of DAT study. The remaining 4 weeks I studied around 6-9 hours a day 6 days a week leading up to my exam. The day before my exam the only studying I did was to take a practice PAT because that is a subject I need to practice everyday or else my score declines.

PAT 25 (Bootcamp score always 21)
There is a really steep learning curve with the PAT. When I first started answering practice questions I was really discouraged, but consistent practice with the strategies outlined in PAT Academy was super helpful. My biggest recommendation with this section is to complete 5-10 question of every question type on the PAT every study day. Doing this helped me to see common patterns and made me comfortable with the questions. My main strategy for this section was to eliminate answer options that were clearly wrong and doing this I was able to narrow it down to at least two options every time. As I said earlier even one day without practicing for this section decreased my confidence with it so I can’t stress daily practice enough.

QR 22 (Bootcamp scores 19-21)