DAT Breakdown (25AA/24TS/19PAT)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sloshh

Reaction score
DAT Breakdown:
AA: 25
TS: 24

I thought that I would share how I studied to help out others who might be having doubts like I had. I was really anxious when I first started studying for the exam. This was my first and only time taking the DAT. My major is not in science.

Studying process: I was taking two courses and working while studying for the DAT. That being said, it took me about 3.5 months to study for the DAT. For content review and studying I used Anki, textbooks, and some study sheets I found online. Personally, I prefer reading rather than watching videos. The first 2.5 months were spent reviewing content and reading Campbell (Biology textbook) to learn physiology since I didn’t have any background in physiology. In the last month I bought Booster and spent my time mostly doing practice problems. The questions were very similar to the questions on the real exam. Throughout the entire studying process, I did Anki for bio almost daily (mostly physiology).

BIO (22): Anki and Campbell (textbook) were the two main resources I used for this section. I won’t recommend reading a textbook if you have other good resources available – like study notes or DAT review sheets – because textbooks can be rather cumbersome and overkill for the DAT. I also referred to booster’s Anki study sheets while studying if I needed to quickly look up something I had forgotten. Looking back on my experience I wish I had not focused so much on studying for the physiology section and done more practice questions. Most of the questions were discrete and were not trying to trick you. I didn’t focus on cell and genetics since bio 1 was still fresh in my mind, but I wish I had done more practice sets for cell and genetics. I took five practice exams. Practice exams were usually 20ish.