DAT Breakdown and DAT Bootcamp (25AA)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Carlee Marcuccilli

Reaction score
IMG_2425.jpeg

Hi everyone! I took the DAT on May 24, 2023. I only used DAT Bootcamp and got an Academic Average of 25!! Here is a breakdown of how I studied for each section:

Background: I am a neuroscience major at Indiana University, so I have a strong science background. I have already taken most of the prerequisites for dental school. I followed Ari’s Extended 150 day schedule exactly. While studying, I was enrolled in a full time schedule of undergraduate classes, so I studied over a longer period of time. I began studying in January and took the DAT the end of May. Then, I applied for dental school in June (last month). DAT Bootcamp was amazing. It took me through everything step by step and allowed for endless practice. I spent an extensive amount of time completing everything on Bootcamp, and it totally paid off!

Total Science: 24
Academic Average: 25

PAT: 21
Perceptual Ability was very difficult for me at first. I started out by watching the videos, and then, I just tried to do practice problems as often as I could. Doing practice problems is really the only way to get good at this section. Toward the beginning of studying, I always made sure to watch the video explanation which helped me get down the right process of thinking when going through the problems. Top-front-end questions were always the hardest for me, but after doing endless practice problems, I started to catch on to it. I was nervous to start the practice tests because I was pretty slow. It was helpful to start doing these practice tests earlier so I could see where I was at with each type of problem and especially figure out timing.

QR: 23