MD WAMC/School List (3.74c, 3.71s, 520) - lots of research, meh volunteering

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xeno7410

Reaction score
Hey all! I'm a first-time applicant to medical school, and I stand to be the very first doctor in my family. It's been 2 years since I graduated college and I'm really hoping I won't have to stall my application for this cycle. While my stats alone shouldn't preclude me from putting at least a few T20s on my list, I understand that my lack of non-clinical hours might hamstring my application. I'm abroad right now, but I'm set to begin volunteering in the arts as soon as I return.

I'd rather not take any of those goofy ahh SJTs, but a recent marathon of John Wayne movies is making me want to add some TMDSAS schools to my list (and by extension, Casper to my list of things to do...)

----------Demographics and SES ------------

Ethnicity/Race: White (Ukrainian/American)

SES Disadvantaged Status: Nah. Paid my way through 5 years of undergrad through my side hustles (crypto, side biz, art comms, flipping stuff during college) and jobs. Likely won't graduate with any medical school debt either.

Family BG: My father fled to Florida from the former USSR when it was in it's deth-throes (was a high-ranking naval officer on a nuclear sub, even he is shocked that he slipped through the cracks) and has what we assume to be the equivalent of a master's in electrical/mechanical engineering from the naval academy. He currently works doing high-level "tech stuff" for the Department of Defense and gave me a hobbyistic love of computers from a very young age. My mother has a bachelor's in business but has worked as an art teacher for the better part of the last ~ 15 years (heavily influenced my love and appreciation of the arts).

----------The Good Bits ------------
  1. cGPA and sGPA: 3.74 and 3.71 respectively. Biochemistry major (chem-heavy) and Biology minor.