WAMC: Lower but upward trend GPA; Average DAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.
D

deleted1173178

Date of submission: 8/7/23, Verified 8/25/23

Overall GPA: 3.52

Science GPA: 3.46

Bio-Chem-Physics GPA: 3.31 (Currently taking Physics)

As a nursing student I was not passionate about the path I was taking (nursing) and really suffered during school (leaving my nursing university with a 3.2 GPA). I made this clear and talked about my journey in my personal statement, so I believe my rising GPA shows dedication and a passionate need for my career as a dentist.

DAT score (include AA and all sections):
AA: 19
TS: 19
Bio: 19
GC: 19
OC: 18
PAT: 20
RC: 22
QR: 16

State of Residence: South Dakota

Undergrad Attended: Northern State University

Major: Biology

Minor: Chemistry and Business

Minority? No

Re-applicant? No

Nontrad? Yes, was originally Nursing for a year and a half, then graduated from technical college with an associates in dental assisting, took the DANB and got certified after graduation. Now I’m finishing and have almost completed my undergraduate 4 year

Shadowing Experience: +1000 hours as a CDA

Volunteering Experience: ~140 hours and continuing
-animal shelter
-STEM outreach program at undergrad
-science fair judge
-pre health club functions

Employment:
-Hub City Dental Lab: ~1705 hours
-CDA at Dental office: ~1035 hours
-CNA at nursing home: ~1036 hours

Research: none

Other Extracurriculars: manual dexterity talked about in my application was doing nails and working with acrylics and helping at the dental lab

Have you volunteered/shadowed/attended events at any dental schools?
-Attended a Pre-Dental simulation clinic in April of 2022 at University Of Nebraska Medical Center

Relevant Honors or Awards:
-Dean’s List 4 semesters
-High Honor Graduate at Dental Assisting School
-2 Academic scholarships

LOR type and strength: