DAT Study Breakdown 29 AA, 24 PAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

predenttsr

Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I just took the DAT on August 19, 2023 and my scores are as follows: 29 AA, 24 PAT (27 Bio, 30 GC, 30 OC, 26 RC, 30 QR).

Here is my study breakdown :) I studied for approximately 3 months (with a lot of random weekend breaks due to family events) and 8 hours a day easily. I mainly used DAT Bootcamp but bought Booster at the end for extra practice tests. For context, I’m an incoming Junior in college with a Biology major so I had a lot of Biology background, and I had already taken both Organic and General Chemistry. My most useful classes for the Bio section of the DAT were probably Anatomy and Cell Biology.

From May 22 to June 18th I did intense content review and really focused on Bio and General Chemistry, using my breaks to study the PAT and QR. I watched all of the Bootcamp videos and took notes on their High-Yield notes for Bio, and for Gen Chem I downloaded all of the PPTs and annotated them along with the videos. For the PAT, I took notes on a few strategies but eventually just moved on to practice- same with QR. Daily, I would complete one Bio chapter in the morning and one Gen Chem chapter in the afternoon and then do PAT practice. At the end of the day, I would review the Bio section I’d learned that morning. The next day, I would do the same thing, including completing Bio bites for the section I had reviewed the night before.

After July 18th, I finally started studying Organic Chemistry and would try to finish 2 Chapters a day. For one week, I only learnt Organic Chemistry, while doing the Bootcamp problem sets for all of the other sections. Review is most important here! After every single Bio, QR, RC, and GC question I got wrong I would take the time to take notes on what the correct answers were.