DAT Breakdown

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Centry

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
First, I'd like to thank everyone who has ever posted a DAT breakdown on SDN because chances are I have read it. Those were immensely helpful in conserving my time and focusing my studies.

Scores:
Perceptual Ability Test: 20 (73.8%)
Quantitative Reasoning: 27 (99.6%)
Reading Comprehension : 24 (94.4%)
Biology: 21 (91.8%)
General Chemistry: 25 (97.1%)
Organic Chemistry: 23 (93.4%)
Total Science: 23 (97.5%)
Academic Average: 24 (99.4%)

I studied a little more than 2 months, usually 1-2 hours a day for the first 5 weeks or so and then got serious with about 3 weeks left when I started studying 6-7 hours a day.
The first thing I did was watch all of Chad's Biology videos. I know some people find these unhelpful, but they were simple enough (and short enough) to ease my introduction into studying for the DAT. Afterwards, I went through all of EK Orgo, General Chemistry, and Biology (in that order). I tried to maneuver my studying schedule so that I never went more than 2 weeks without looking at a particular subject.
After going through all of EK, I looked at Schaum's and read all of the chapters that didn't cover Human Biology but would appear on the DAT (at least according to the topics covered), excluding those I felt I already had a good grasp on.

These included:
Ch. 6: Photosynthesis
Ch 13: Basic Structure and Function in Vascular Plants
Ch. 14: Interactions of Vascular Plants with their Environment
Ch. 26: Ecology
Ch 28-32: Kingdoms of Monera, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia

About 5 weeks before my DAT, I started working on the PAT. It's important to start on this early enough and continue to work on this in the background of studying for the other sections. Looking at the PAT every day, even if for only 20 minutes, is vital.