How to use my job to get into medschool (Healthcare Technologies Consultant)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

SKaminski

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

So, i've been debating recently how i can best utilize my current job to increase my chances of getting into Med School. I am a Healthcare Technologies Consultant. Primarily, I create/program forms in Centricity (an EMR). Due to the nature of my job, I am often in a vast number of hospitals/clinics, doing installations, troubleshooting, and training.

As a consultant, I also meet with clinical managers and practitioners to discuss options in refining their EMR environment. We discuss workflow, Meaningful Use, and simplifying processes.

It's a 40+ hour a week job. I've probably spent 400+ hours in hospitals, at a minimum. I have worked with pretty much every speciality (peds to neuro oncology, family medicine to obygyn/cardiology)

So, should i consider this as "clinical experience"? I am assisting and interacting with providers.

Should i consider this "shadowing experience"? I am sometimes in the room (whether pulled in by nurses or providers) to help assist them in trouble shooting.

What do you guys think? I'm sure i'll talk a lot about it during med school interviews, as i'm sure having created Physical Exam forms, ROS forms, SOAP notes, History forms ect will be useful, but for getting to the interview step, how can i capitalize on this experience?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.