DAT Breakdown 7/17

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Subridentes

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

Here is my first post! I was hesitant about posting my scores but I received a lot from sdn and thought that I needed to give back a bit :thumbup: I'll keep it relatively short and will be happy to answer questions as we go.
First of all, I want to give special thanks to Glimmer1991, jimmpannzee, aqz, Bangity, and FeralisExtremum for posting their breakdowns, notes and being all too awesome.

Background: I have taken a decent amount of biology courses (genetics, evo&eco, developmental, and cell bio) and just finished Organic Chemistry II. I have not taken anatomy physiology, plant physiology, etc.

How long I studied: I studied 3-4 weeks, with the first week being on and off. I felt pretty exhausted after my spring semester finals and started off slacking. I picked up the pace as I went. I followed jimmpannzee's schedule pretty roughly (great if you have the determination). I know everyone is different but I personally don't recommend anyone studying for more than 8 weeks if you put in 5-6 solid hours a day. I know many people (who have done better than me) who can attest to this.

My scores:
AA 25 (100.0%)
TS 29 (100.0%)
BIO 26 (99.8%)
GC 29 (99.9%)
OC 28 (99.5%)
QR 20 (95.1%)
PAT 22 (93.8%)
RC 23 (95.1%)

Section Breakdowns:
PAT (22): CDP and Achiever. After finishing achiever, my hopes for a decent score were non-existent. However, I kept practicing my weak points and must've improved as I went. I would recommend starting with CDP and doing achiever if you want the icing on top. I think CDP is enough to get you a 20+

QR (20): Math Destroyer and qvault. I am not completely sure how I screwed up on QR, but it must've been pretty bad. I scored 23-30 on the practice exams and was pretty confident. For those preparing for DAT, I'd recommend studying more stats and geometry.