Breaking it Down: The DAT (5/1/2013)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

J777

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello Fellow PreDents,

If you get anything from my breakdown, it would be this: DURING YOUR TEST, YOU WILL LIKELY FEEL LIKE YOU ARE DROWNING AND THAT YOU WILL PROBABLY HAVE TO RETAKE. I’ve read it in many other breakdowns but when I was taking the test, I truly felt like I was indeed performing poorly and that my application would be compromised. However, if you prepare for this test, these thoughts should not get in your way. Push them aside and realize that you have prepared, that you are probably doing better than you think.

My background: I am a non-traditional student. I studied economics during my undergrad. Several life-changing events eventually led me to pursue dentistry. I am currently finishing up the prereqs for dental school in a post-bacc program for career changers. In my program, I have taken Intro Cell Bio, Genetics, Physics, OChem, GChem, Biochem, and Physio. Though my test strongly lacked physio topics, I would highly recommend taking physiology right before your test. It helps put together concepts from many disciplines and will facilitate your studying.

Undergrad GPA: 3.65
Post Bacc GPA (all prereq science courses): 4.0

Scores

PAT 22 (93.4%)
QR 21 (96.4%)
RC 21 (76.7%)
Bio 22 (95.9%)
GC 23 (95.4%)
OC 24 (95.7%)
TS 23 (97.8%)
AA 22 (97.0%)

Materials Used

Cliffs: Like a broken record, this resource was invaluable in my studies. Know the info in this book and you are almost there for the biology section.
Chad’s: Broken record again. He tells you what you need to know. Understand his concepts for OC and GC and you will be golden. His quizzes were representative of a majority of the test.